The Gandhi Peace Award

g203233_u53572_gandhi1 - Copy

gandhi1 - Copy

Gandhi Peace Award

The Gandhi Peace Award nominees are distinguished by having made, over a period of years, a significant contribution to the promotion of an enduring international peace founded on justice, self-determination, diversity, compassion, and harmony, achieved through cooperative and non-violent means—in the spirit of Gandhi.

The Gandhi Peace Award is marked by a significant medallion and a certificate with an inscription summing up the work for peace of a distinguished citizen of the world. The medallion features the profile of Mohandas K. Gandhi, with his words “Love Ever Suffers/Never Revenges Itself” cast in bronze. The recipient’s name is added to a weighty carved statue of the Mahatma. The Award is presented at a ceremony held approximately once a year, at which a distinguished peacemaker is recognized and given the opportunity to present a message of challenge and hope. It is to be awarded “for contributions made in the promotion of international peace and good will.”

The Award has always been presented in person to each recipient.

Like all of the perennial activities of Promoting Enduring Peace (PEP), the Gandhi Peace Award was conceived by the organization’s founder, Dr. Jerome Davis, in the early nineteen fifties. At the Board of Director’s meeting on March 13, 1959, he formally proposed that a yearly award be given to persons outstanding in their work for world peace.

A famous New York sculptor, Don Benaron/Katz, was commissioned to create a work of art to serve as the symbol of the Award. He researched Gandhi at the library of the India House in New York City and by 1960 had carved a striking
portrait of the founder of the century’s international movement for nonviolent change. He wrote, “I carved the Gujarati word for peace on one side, and on the other a symbolic plowshare and pruning hook inspired by Isaiah 2:4?

They shall beat their swords into plowshares
and their spears into pruning hooks;
nation shall not lift up sword against nation,
neither shall they learn war any more.

Beginning in 2012 the Gandhi Peace Award medallion was created by “From War to Peace“, a California company that uses recycled copper from disarmed nuclear missile systems to create Peace Bronze, the most precious metal in our world. American materials that once sent launch signals to the most violent weapons ever created have been transformed to help launch peace in the 21st century. They believe that war is failure, and that peace is triumph.  At From War to Peace, starting with one weapon at a time, they hope to see a demilitarized world in our lifetime. From War to Peace donates 20% of all profits to peace and social justice organizations committed to transforming our world, among them: Veterans for Peace, the National Peace Corps Association, and the International Peace Bureau. (

Excerpted from Peace Heroes:    The Gandhi Peace Awards copyright 2002-2010 by James Clement van Pelt.


Eleanor Roosevelt
The Rev. Dr. Edwin T. Dahlberg
Rabbi Maurice Eisendrath
The Rev. John Haynes Holmes
Dr. Linus C. Pauling
James Paul Warburg
Dr. E. Stanley Jones
Martin Luther King, Jr. *
A.J. Muste
Norman Thomas
Jerome Davis
The Rev. William Sloane Coffin, Jr.
Dr. Benjamin Spock
Senator Wayne Morse
Dr. Willard Uphaus
U Thant
Dorothy Day
Dr. Daniel Ellsberg
Peter Benenson and
Petretti Ennais
Prof. Roland Bainton
Dr. Helen Caldicott
Dr. Corliss Lamont
Randall Watson Forsberg
Robert Jay Lifton
Dr. Kay Camp
Dr. Bernard Lown
Prof. John Somerville
Cesar Chavez
Marian Wright Edelman
Senator George McGovern
Ramsey Clark
The Rev. Lucius Walker, Jr.
Father Roy Bourgeois
Edith Ballantyne
Alan Wright and Paula Kline
Howard and Alice Frazier
Michael True and NEPSA
Dennis Kucinich
Karen Jacob & David Cortright
Rabbis Ehud Bandel & Arik Ascherman                                                     Amy Goodman
Bill McKibben
Medea BenjaminKathy Kelly and Tom Goldtooth


*Martin Luther King, Jr. was designated to receive the Award in 1964 and did formally accept it, but shortly thereafter was designated as the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate for that year and consequently was unable to attend a ceremony for the formal presentation of the Award

For much more see our website the Gandhi Peace Award